I wonder what the Hillary song would have been.

TN’s very own Chip Saltsman–potential RNC chair–made a mixed Xmas cd for distribution to RNC committee members…because he’s a 14 year old girl.  Song titles included on the CD (and listed in bold-faced font…WICKED!!) were reportedly as follows:

“John Edwards’ Poverty Tour,” “Wright place, wrong pastor,” “Love Client #9,” “Ivory and Ebony” and “The Star Spanglish Banner.”

As you can see, Saltsman has decided to pretend he has a firm grasp of policy by feigning an incisive, parodic wit.  The mixed CD, by the way, is titled “We Hate the USA.” The CD also included a single titled, “Barack the Magic Negro”, sung to the tune of “Puff the Magic Dragon”.  Saltsman is reported as having defended the song thusly:

“I think most people recognize political satire when they see it,” Tennessee Republican Chip Saltsman told CNN. “I think RNC members understand that.”

Maybe it is because I am not an RNC member, but I’m really missing the political satire invoked when a white, Tennessean Republican uses the word “Negro.”  Missing it, entirely.  Then again, I didn’t laugh at Cousin Leon’s “Annual Christmas joke” which connected Barack’s assumption of the presidential post to the replacement of the Rose Garden with a watermelon patch.  Some days I wonder what year it is.

****

In an afterthought, I asked Mr. Google what he thought of Mr. Saltsman.  In a “Newsmaker Q&A” when Huckabee was still in the race and Saltsman was his national campaign manager, Saltsman shared this telling gem:

One of the things I’d like to think I’m known for is that whether I was party chairman or working for Bill Frist or just freelancing some other campaigns—we’re going to have a good time. It’s a very important job. We’re obviously very serious about it. We work very hard. But we’re having fun, and I think that’s the key to any campaign.

(I think the key to any campaign is knowledge and morality, but whatevs.)  This leads me to the conclusion that Saltsman is probably that guy I saw in the mall with his family wearing a grey collegiate sweatshirt emblazoned with the word, “College.”

Here is Saltsman’s official page petitioning for the RNC chairmanship and adorned with Bill Frist’s endorsement.

Here is what he looks like:

saltsman

And then here are ways to contact him and let him know if you think he’s totally hahahahaha funny:

Mailing Address:
21 GOP
4717 Centennial Boulevard
Nashville, TN 37209

Phone:
615-386-0026

Email:
inbox@chipsaltsman.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment