sociological science

There’s a new kid on the block, and she’s lean and smart. Sociological Science is a new, open-access journal that promises 1 month turn-around times, and editorial decisions will be “up” or “down”–no multiple R&Rs. There will be no paywalls, and space for moderated discussion of the published articles. And the editors are NO JOKE–it’s a who’s who of people whose work I respect (and people I like…as people):

  • Jesper Sorensen
  • Delia Baldassarri
  • Stephen L. Morgan
  • Olav Sorenson
  • Sarah Soule
  • Kim Weeden
  • Ezra W. Zuckerman

I can’t tell you how excited I am by this. It’s an entrepreneurial response to the deadlocked, 3 R&Rs problem and to the severing of public debate and published science. The quality of research and professionalism among members of the editorial board means they’re sure to entice tenured faculty doing high-impact research to forsake the existing (paper) journals to send their good papers to Sociological Science. I wish them well, and I can’t wait to see what happens next. And friends–if you need help, you know where to find me.


4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “sociological science

  1. Jenn Lena

    Let me add that I’d be more than happy to help the current editors identify several qualified scholars of color to serve on the board.

  2. Wow. That is fantastic. This will really take off!

  3. Pingback: Sociological Science is coming | orgtheory.net

  4. Pingback: Sociological Science » The Editors' Desk

Leave a comment