errata

As an author, you either speak out when people are unfair to the work, or you hold your tongue and expect most people will be more careful.

I’m a tongue-holder, except for now:

Regev (2013: 128-9) cites my book in his and concludes that “the analysis of genre trajectories implies that genres cannot exist concurrently in multiple incarnations—at any given moment a genre’s incarnation is either avant-garde, scene-based or industry based.” But implication is not necessary. I recommend you turn to pages 62-3 in Banding Together, where I discuss “the overlap of genre forms within a musical style, [as] it is clearly the case that such overlap exists.” I give you a few examples there, too.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “errata

  1. Yes musicians can be in more than one category. At the time of typing this, I am an obscure blues musician (in 2 categories- garage band, traditionalist.) I read a review of your book today and ordered it cos I need info on how to get ‘scene-based music’ cracked…!

  2. Jenn Lena

    Thanks, George! Let me know what you think!

  3. I gave it my best shot, but I think it’s just too niche. If I was to try to make a living at this, I think I’d starve. https://soundcloud.com/george-stokoe

Leave a Reply

