Immersion

Having just finished a wild pop critics circuit, including a weekend at EMP and some time hanging out with a critic-friends, I’m catching up on my reading. I’m loving this recent Rolling Stone piece on Diplo by the estimable Jonah Weiner. Within it, he relates this ancedote from Diplo:

By 2011, Kanye West was summoning Diplo to Watch the Thronesessions. “Kanye put me in a room with this Nigerian pop star, put on ‘Lift Off,’ told us, ‘Fix this track up,’ and left,” Diplo recalls. “Mary-Kate and Ashley were there, too, listening to stuff, like a litmus test for white America.”

My firm assertion is that at next year’s EMP someone needs to “do the Greil” and write an imagined history of what happened in that room.
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Immersion

  1. I find the idea of the Olsen twins being the focus group from which one generalizes to white people to be hilarious

  2. dizygotic

    Laugh all you want, Gabriel, but it sounds like pure genius to me! Here’s an idea for our host: name two other white people would would serve as a _better_ litmus test for the sort of white Americans who potentially care about Kanye. Should be easy, but, uh, um..still stuck at Olsen twins.

  3. Jenn Lena

    I guess I think that non-white people are, and have always been, better at understanding us than we are at understanding ourselves.

  4. dizygotic

    “I guess I think that non-white people are, and have always been, better at understanding us than we are at understanding ourselves.”

    …and, with that, our host wins the thread! Gabriel, only a joke my brother. Yes, agreed, it is hilarious, but also terrifyingly spot on.

Leave a Reply

