tip top

I’m preparing the first lecture for a new draft of a course I’m inheriting, called “Culture in America.” In order to help students understand the differences from past semesters (in which the focus lay on politics and religion, and the approach was strongly interdisciplinary), I am collecting lists of the “top of the charts”–the most popular books, movies, television, etc. in this week, in the U.S.

I’m hoping several things will happen when I share these lists with the students, on the first day:

  1. They will reveal their own preferences, and this will (a) give me some insight into their tastes and proclivities and (b) give them some sense of how their preferences limit their sociological imaginations.
  2. One component piece of (b) is that the discussion should reveal that some of the students, some of the time reject or demean popular media/culture as a means to demonstrate their own cultivated tastes. I hope to see/reveal the combined effect of race, class, gender, and nationality, and I’m excited to see what other (more unexpected) divisions exist.
  3. We can then have a discussion about how revealing the top of the distribution can be. They are at the top of the socio-economic/privilege/education hierarchy, but we’re looking at a list of Top Sellers–is one or the other more indicative of something significant about “culture in America?”
  4. That we will begin a discussion of the peculiarities of this moment in U.S. history. Those of us over 30 have known a time before terrorism dominated news coverage, before the ubiquity of digital media, before “neo-con” existed as a broadly known political/social identity–these students have not. So I am hoping that an analysis of popular culture can help them begin to see some of the themes that run across our culture.
  5. That they begin to realize the course will seek that perfect balance between intensive exposure to sociological theory and contemporary, everyday life.

I’ll try not to evaluate the students based on how well they achieve these aims. I have to say, I think my goals are modest, especially given the richness of this information. For your pleasure, I’ll insert the Top 10 lists below the fold. Suggestions are welcomed for additional lists…but only if you make it super easy for me to find/grab them.

Oh, this is obviously also a post about the ASA in Vegas debacle. I bored of the details of that debate, so I’m moving us to this one, which will–one assumes–be formally similar.

Top 10 Movies from Yahoo: http://movies.yahoo.com/mv/boxoffice/

Top 10 Songs (resembles Billboard, but from downloads): http://top10songs.com/

 

Top 10 Broadcast TV from Nielsen

 

Top 10 Cable TV shows

 

Top 10 Syndicated shows

 

Top 10 TV shows for African American households

 

Top 10 shows for Hispanic households

 

In case you didn’t know…I didn’t…La fuerza del destino (“The Power of Destiny”) is a telenovela. A very through plot description is available.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “tip top

  1. On the “Among Hispanics” thing, it’s probably worth keeping in mind that this is based on a peculiar set of data assumptions that are designed to exaggerate the extent to which Hispanics are a distinctive Spanish-language niche. Native born and 1.5er Hispanics (that is, a majority of Hispanics) are a lot closer in their viewing habits to Anglos than they are to what Nielsen defines as “Hispanics.” There’s some good stuff on this in Latinos, Inc by Davila. Maybe you could use this pedagogically to get across the social construction of (semi-)official statistics and race, reactivity, etc, etc.

  2. Jenn Lena

    Excellent. Will do. Also spent the evening thinking about how I might find a “Top 10 Preachers” or “Top 10 Racecar Drivers” list.

  3. Re #4 — why not give them similar charts from 2000 for historical comparison? (I guess if you’re 20, eleven years ago is history, no?)

  4. Anonymous

    Found the preachers list I was looking for, and a Honey Badger gif. More or less ready to roll. I think I am too intolerant of my age (or theirs) to follow your suggestion, Jay. But I think I may transform that into one of their essay options for the midterm…!

  5. Jenn Lena

    Obvs. WITW is breaking out her alter-ego “anonymous.”

Leave a Reply

