Tangible goods

On Grandgood, interesting news:

Two days ago it was revealed that someone was ebaying the identity of Banksy, but then the auction went down and we forgot about it, thinking it probably wasn’t legit. But hey, it’s back up now, skirting eBay’s tangibility requirement by now offering a “piece of paper” with his name on it, allegedly of course.

If you win this auction I will mail you a piece of paper revealing the true identity of “Banksy”.

I have uncovered his identity by matching up the prices of his sold pieces to corresponding tax records. I will reveal no more details.

The winner of this auction is the only person I will ever share this information with. The piece of paper will say his name, nothing more.

I give you 100% assurance that it is most certainly the full name of the street artist known as “Banksy”.

Ebay previously ended this auction because I was selling something that was not “tangible”.
It is now tangible.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Tangible goods

  1. I’m not sure I get the value in learning Banksy’s identity. Isn’t this like learning that Cary Grant is really Archibald Leach? It’s not as if Banksy is actually Damien Hirst. He’s some bloke we’ve never heard of.

  2. Jenn Lena

    I hope my friend PL will ring in on this, because I suspect he has a better view since he’s got more expertise in art markets and auctions.

    I would think the reveal of Banksy’s birth name could effect the valuation of his work. A number of people stand to profit from this. My simple assumption is that collectors would want to prevent the release of his name to keep prices up. Sellers with comparable work from different artists would want it widely released to depress the value of his work. (Although this may boomerang, depressing the value of all works within the sub-field.)

Leave a Reply

