An episode of the dating game in which my loathing of emoticons turns to amusement

As regular readers are aware, I post dating website profiles from time to time. (Previous editions can be found here, here, here and here.) I am now in the very rare position of being able to post dating profiles from men located in and around Sana’a. (Actually, I probably was always in this position, the internet being what it is, but I wouldn’t have thought to do so before a good friend moved there. Now it seems like the most natural way to engage an old and distinguished culture, different than my own.) As I have mentioned before, literacy rates are low are low in Yemen, and English proficiency even harder to come by. Ergo, we have dating profiles by babelfish.

Exhibit 1:

lost for life – 🙂 i no tast the life from without Girlfriend These are the words simple, I mean a lot :$ Possible to know a lot of people but the heart and love will not be to one 😉 Are you is 😉

Now, I know all the major news outfits are scrambling right now, trying to piece together background information on Yemen. This weekend’s thwarted terrorist attacks suggest we’ll need to engage and understand the Yemeni people, and why and how they have become a favorite depot for al-Qaeda. As a first step, I suggest we understand the words simple. After all, possible to know a lot of people but the heart and love will not be to one.

Are you is?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “An episode of the dating game in which my loathing of emoticons turns to amusement

  1. Pingback: An episode of the dating game in which my loathing of emoticons … :: Luv 4 Life

  2. aza

    Hey, I can feel my Yemeni bro. I, too, no taste the life from without girlfriend. I think maybe we all CAN get along.

Leave a Reply

