Music & Memory

So I finally watched the video Richman sent with the following question:

is it possible that jay-z’s live performances are being influenced by beyonce’s song phrasing? his beastie boy work at APW seemed sort of sing-song-y to me…

and the video looks like this:

Truth is, this is faithful to the original, and no more sing-songy than that. So faithful that Jay Z calls himself MCA. Other interesting asides: Jay-Z opens with an auto tuned Kayne song from 808s and Heartbreak…guess he doesn’t want it to die before his intro. Also: the synchronicity! of watching this a day after I wrote the following to Macedonian hip hop dot com:

1. How did you get involved in hip hop, what was your primary goal when you got into it?

I first was interested in hip hop as a fan.  I don’t remember when I heard my first song–my guess is that I first heard the rap that was integrated into R&B and pop music, and not “straight” rap.  So, I’m guessing I heard “Rockit” before Grandmaster Flash, but I really don’t remember.  I first became interested in hip-hop after David Bedrick’s bar mitzvah party, at which I won a copy of the Beastie Boys’ first album.  I loved it and hated it.  It was unlike anything I have ever heard, and I was enraptured, to quote Blondie. I started to professionally study hip hop in 1997 or 1998, while I was in graduate school, getting a Ph.D. in sociology.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

