Pop quiz.

Although you were a great embarrassment to me in the last contest (I have eaten your prize, you nitwits), I must pass along a question from a friend and colleague:

I wanted to ask you about interesting intertextual connections between
Hollywood films about Vietnam and rap lyrics.  Have any ideas off the top
of your head?

Well, yes, I do.

WuTang Clan “7th Chamber”: Good Morning Vietnam

2 Live Crew “Me So Horny”: Full Metal Jacket

Puff Daddy “I’ll Be Missing You”: “Adagio for Strings” by Samuel Barber from Platoon

You?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Pop quiz.

  1. I’m still hunting for something better than Alpa Chino’s Booty Sweat, from Tropic Thunder…

  2. I actually think that Vietnam movies kind of drifted out in the early 1990s, and when they were around, their soundtracks tended to be 1960s now-‘classic’ rock. I associate rap much more with Iraq War I & II, and their attendant films (Three Kings, Jarhead).

    So. What’d I win?

  3. Jenn Lena

    You won zero minus two.

Leave a Reply

