‘Tis the season of hyperbole

We’re here with your Tops.  (check back for updates)

Top 10 Stories You Might Have Missed: Coca production increases, Russia moves into Africa, Chinese steel isn’t good, Southern Sudan is looking like Northwestern Sudan, and other pieces of bad news.  Turns out, you didn’t miss any of the good stuff.

S/FJ’s annual “best of music” lists, by single and album.

The Onion’s list of same.  But just albums.  And calculated using the New Math.

To the best of my knowledge, this is what I listened to this year, more than other things:

Lupe Fiasco: The Cool

Girl Talk: Feed the Animals

Vampire Weeekend: Vampire Weekend

Camille: Le Fil

Camille: Le sac des filles

Feist: The Reminder

St. Vincent: Marry Me

Robyn: Robyn

Stereo Total: Paris-Berlin

Lykke Li: Youth Novels

Al Green: Lay It Down

Manu Chao: La Radiolina

Mano Negra: Lo Mejor de la Mano Negra

Cabas: Puro Cabas

Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings: 100 Days, 100 Nights

Bob Marley: Songs of Freedom (boxset)

Buena Vista Social Club

Cali: L’amour parfait

Cam’ron: Public Enemy #1

Dengue Fever: Venus on Earth

(compilation) Nigeria 70: Lagos Jump

Ella Fitzgerald: The Cole Porter Songbook

The Flight of the Conchords: The Flight of the Conchords

Hector Lavoe: El Cantante

Leonard Cohen: (mostly just) Chelsea Hotel

Jay-Z: The Black Album

Jens Lekman: Night Falls Over Kortea

Journey: Escape

Lil’ Wayne: Dedication 3

Lily Allen: Alright, Still

Liz Phair: Whitechocolatespaceegg

M.I.A.: Arular & Kala

Mala Rodriguez: Lujo Iberico

The Meters: The Very Best of the Meters

MC Solaar: Prose Combat

MF Doom: Operation Doomsday

Mickey Avalon: Mickey Avalon

Mos Def: Black on Both Sides

New York Dolls: New York Dolls

Portishead: Portishead

Ray J’s single: Sexy Can I

The Unfunkked sets, especially 4 & 5, for some reason

Gotan Project: Lunatico

As you can see, I have made exactly no effort to limit this list to things released in this year, and I have mentioned only (or mainly, only) albums.  I’ve got mixtapes I listened to more than anything else–Jeff Lane’s excellent “Smooth, But Hip Hop Heavy”, and my Muxtapes 1 and 2.  Muxtape is no more, and you’ll have to ask Jeff if you want him to burn you one.

I’ll maybe do books later, although probably not.  That’s how we do hyperbole, over heah.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “‘Tis the season of hyperbole

  1. I just started listening to Manu Chao this year. I dig “La Radiolina.”

  2. Jenn Lena

    He’s pretty great, I think. Someone turned me on to Esperanza a few years ago, and when Radiolina came out I hoped to like it, but it actually took me a few years to grow into it. Now have you listened to his first band: Mano Negra? What do you think of them?

  3. I have Mano Negra on my list of things to check out, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Good stuff?

Leave a Reply

