Pet Shop Boy

Banksy has done an installation in New York, showing until Halloween, that is equal parts idiotic, amusing, and interesting.  As far as I can garner from the videos posted here, it is a small retail space done up to look like a pet store slash zoo.  When I first heard about the exhibition some time ago, I imagined I would most enjoy the robotic chicken nuggets, made to act like chicks.  (actually, Banksy, chicklets would have been funny, too.)  But the videos I most enjoyed are the zen like fish sticks, grappling around in their bowl, the Jungle cat video posted above, and the sausages…particularly the last tank with the mini-franks procreating.  I’ve never really defended my taste/s to you before, and I won’t now, but it is worth pointing out that there is an opportunity here…in all his work…for you to laugh a little at how silly we are.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

